Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
5 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How do you substitute multiple equations into one expression?

Hi All,
I am very new at using Matematica and was hoping one of you could help me. I have 4 equations and I am trying to get Matematica to substitue them into the 5th equation. 
Gs == HVs/HHs

Gb == HVb/HHb
Ps == (VVs - VHs*Gs)/(VVs + VHs*Gs)
Pb == (VVb - VHb*Gb)/(VVb + VHb*Gb)

Pc == (Ps^3 - Pb)
I just want the software to combine them for me and give me the expression for Pc in terms of VV, VH, HV and HH.  This was a quick test before I start putting more complex expression together but i cant even get this to work it seems. I tried using replate, solve and some other commands but It doesnt seem to do it or I am not using the right syntax.  Any ideas as to how to do this or where i might be going wrong? I would apreciate any and all help.
Thanks,
Ves
POSTED BY: Veselin Dobrev
5 Replies
Posted 11 years ago
In[1]:= Gs = HVs/HHs;
Gb = HVb/HHb;
Ps = (VVs - VHs*Gs)/(VVs + VHs*Gs);
Pb = (VVb - VHb*Gb)/(VVb + VHb*Gb);
Pc = (Ps^3 - Pb)

Out[5]= -((-((HVb*VHb)/HHb) + VVb)/((HVb*VHb)/HHb + VVb)) + (-((HVs*VHs)/HHs) + VVs)^3/((HVs*VHs)/HHs + VVs)^3
or
In[1]:= Pc=(Ps^3-Pb)//.{Gs->HVs/HHs, Gb->HVb/HHb, Ps->(VVs-VHs*Gs)/(VVs+VHs*Gs), Pb->(VVb-VHb*Gb)/(VVb+VHb*Gb)}

Out[1]= -((-((HVb*VHb)/HHb) + VVb)/((HVb*VHb)/HHb + VVb)) + (-((HVs*VHs)/HHs) + VVs)^3/((HVs*VHs)/HHs + VVs)^3
POSTED BY: Bill Simpson
Posted 11 years ago
Solve can do this work for you. Give it the equations, tell it to solve for Pc, while eliminating what you don't want:
eqs = {Gs == HVs/HHs,
   Gb == HVb/HHb,
   Ps == (VVs - VHs*Gs)/(VVs + VHs*Gs),
   Pb == (VVb - VHb*Gb)/(VVb + VHb*Gb),
   Pc == (Ps^3 - Pb)};
Solve[eqs, Pc, {Gs, Pb, Ps, Gb}][[1, 1]] // FullSimplify
Pc -> (2 HHs HVb VHb VVs (3 HVs^2 VHs^2 + HHs^2 VVs^2) -
  2 HHb HVs VHs VVb (HVs^2 VHs^2 + 3 HHs^2 VVs^2))/((HVb VHb +
    HHb VVb) (HVs VHs + HHs VVs)^3)
POSTED BY: David Keith