Message Boards Message Boards

How to numerically compute an implicit equation?

Posted 11 years ago
Hi, my name is Joaquin, im a mechanical engineering student.  I haven't got any time these months to learn how to use Mathematica even though i'd love to learn it. Im probably gonna take some time on summer to do so. But i have an immediate problem which i hope somebody here can help me.

I need to compute a simple, implicit equation which i cannot solve myself on pen and paper. Newton's method might work but the equation is really nasty! The equation looks like this: C = F(x) + g(x) + h(x). Where F, g, and h are known functions of x, and c a known value. I wasn't able to clear x out. For example: 3 = 4.log(x) + e^x - x^2, really simple and all I have access to a mathematica 9 copy in college. How can i solve it?

PS: please make it step by step, i haven't used the program even once yet! Thanks in advance!
POSTED BY: joaquin mendez
3 Replies
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you both for the help! i was able to compute it after all, and learned a bit about mathematica syntax tangentially haha!This product certainly seems very useful to me, as soon as i can im gonna learn about it so i don't have to bother you guys! 
POSTED BY: joaquin mendez
Bill's answer is nice - I hardly have anything to add - just maybe few things. First of all - it is always a good idea to read and look through examples in documentation - it would take 5 minutes to adopt the to your case. Second - you can do neat things - like monitoring solutions:

f[x_] := -3 + 4 Log[x] + E^x - x^2;
FindRoot[f[x], {x, 6}, EvaluationMonitor :> Print["x = ", x " f(x) = ", f[x]], WorkingPrecision -> 30]

f[x_] := -3 + 4 Log[x] + E^x - x^2;
{res, {stxy}} = Reap@FindRoot[f[x], {x, 6}, StepMonitor :> Sow[{x, f[x]}], WorkingPrecision -> 30];

Plot[-3 + 4 Log[x] + E^x - x^2, {x, 0, 6}, Epilog -> {Red, PointSize[Large], Point[stxy]}]

POSTED BY: Vitaliy Kaurov
Posted 11 years ago