4 Replies
|
6 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Using the bungee jump model in system modeler

Posted 11 years ago
Hi there,

I am new to system modeler and found an example  that was exactly what I wanted for a science fair project. My science fair project is on whether a spider web as thick as a around a pencil is strong and elastic enough to hold and swing anyone weighing under 200lb. Using the bungee jumping exampls, how do I set parameters like max tension before it breaks, momentum of the person and other stuff like that? Is there a source code I can manipulate? Can anyone who might be familiar with this software and this type of project lead me in the right way?

Thank you very much in advance.
POSTED BY: eshwar chandran
4 Replies
Hi, the Bungee jump example has a spring damper that is always attached, so it's not like jumping on a trampoline made out of spider web, where as long as you are in the air, there is no effect on the web.
If you use this model instead, the body wont hit the web until h=1, due to the gap in the ElastoGap model. The force in the spiderWeb component tells you how much tension is imposed on the web, and the momentum of the person depends on it's mass (body.m) and initial condition (height over trampoline).
 model Trampoline
   Modelica.Mechanics.MultiBody.Parts.Body body(r_0.start={0,2,0}, m=80, r_0.fixed=true) annotation(Placement(visible=true, transformation(origin={10,10}, extent={{-10,-10},{10,10}}, rotation=0)));
   inner Modelica.Mechanics.MultiBody.World world(animateWorld=false, animateGravity=false) annotation(Placement(visible=true, transformation(origin={-130,10}, extent={{-10,-10},{10,10}}, rotation=0)));
   Modelica.Mechanics.MultiBody.Forces.LineForceWithMass lineForceWithMass annotation(Placement(visible=true, transformation(origin={-30,10}, extent={{-10,-10},{10,10}}, rotation=0)));