Message Boards Message Boards

Running Wolfram Mathematica inside Jupiter Notebook in Google Cloud + GPUs

Posted 4 years ago

I am a Data Scientist working in a startup in Brazil. Recently I was working with Social Networks in Python using networkx library to analyse posts from a given hashtag for our client. However, I was completely aware of the additional functionalities of Wolfram Mathematica. Take the following picture as an example, done with networkx, 100,000 people:

Social Network Emotions Connections

It's an interesting perspective, but adds little value to generate strategic insights for our clients, given that we need to zoom it to analyze details of this network. In my previous experience of Wolfram Mathematica, I was able to use some reasoning coming from cellular automata interactions to map, track people of interest (blue circle), and watch the evolution of mood (color), number of connections (size of circle) in a social network:

Evolution of Mood

Besides, one can use Mathematica's features of finding communities, coloring them and even highlight people of interest when passing the mouse over the social network and also speaking their names:

Communities

More than that, you can highlight communities and check the number of connections of each individual:

Communities Two

So, it's clear that Wolfram Mathematica is way ahead of networkx. However, I was dealing with a drawback: if you choose to plot more than 10,000 connections in Mathematica, that can take some time. And time is what you don't have in a startup. So, I started wondering how I could use GPUs with Wolfram Mathematica. One way it's to use webMathematica, installing Java and Apache Tomcat in a cloud instance. However, I was told one can also use Wolfram Client Python library and run Mathematica in a Python notebook.