Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
6 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Obtain incomplete moments of bivariate normal as func of CDF?

Posted 4 years ago

Hi

I am a Mathematica/Wolfram novice so apologies for the elementary nature of this question.

I am looking to use Mathematica to see if a few integrals related to bivariate distributions have closed forms.

In particular I am interested in the incomplete moments:

Integrate[
 x^m y^n Exp[  -(x^2 + y^2 - 
        2 \[Rho] x y)/(2 (1 - \[Rho]^2))]/(2 \[Pi] Sqrt[
      1 - \[Rho]^2]), {x, a, Infinity}, {y, b, Infinity}]

I suspect they can be written in terms of the standard CDF- L(a,b,rho) in the Abramowitz /Stegun formalism (eqn 26.3.3).

However, as a test case, trying to get Mathematica to evaluate the above with m=n=0 leads it into a loop from which it never seems to emerge.

How could I define the default m=m=0 case and see if it can express the m>0 n>0 case in terms of it?

Many thanks. Tom

POSTED BY: Tom Weston
6 Replies
Posted 4 years ago

Using Assumptions helps. For example:

Integrate[x y PDF[BinormalDistribution[{0, 0}, {1, 1}, \[Rho]], {x, y}], {x, 0, \[Infinity]}, {y, 0, \[Infinity]},
 Assumptions -> 0 < \[Rho] < 1]

gets you

$$\frac{\rho \left(\sqrt{\frac{1}{\rho ^2}-1}-\cos ^{-1}(\rho )+\pi \right)}{2 \pi }$$

POSTED BY: Jim Baldwin

I only found for: m = n = a = b = 0,\[Rho] < 1

f[a_, b_, \[Rho]_, m_, n_] := NIntegrate[(E^((-x^2 - y^2 + 2 x y \[Rho])/(2 (1 - \[Rho]^2))) x^m y^n)/(
2 \[Pi] Sqrt[1 - \[Rho]^2]), {x, a, Infinity}, {y, b, Infinity}]
f[0, 0, 1/2, 0, 0]
(*0.333333*)
(\[Pi] + 2 ArcSin[\[Rho]])/(4 \[Pi]) /. \[Rho] -> 1/2 // N
(*0.333333*)

I think that does not have finite closed-form expression in terms of very large class of special functions.

POSTED BY: Mariusz Iwaniuk
Posted 4 years ago

Hi Mariusz

Thanks for the reply.