|
2 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Musical MIDI notes away from the scale

Posted 11 years ago
In a small simulation project that I am working on I'd like to do several things that seem not to be possible with the MIDI-like abilities of Mathematica 9. 

With particular instrument styles I'd like to play notes that are between the semitones of the conventional western scale.  So, although this is possible:
Sound[SoundNote[1, 1, "Harpsichord"]]

neither this
Sound[SoundNote[11=, 1, "Harpsichord"]]

nor this is permissable
Sound[SoundNote[1.1, 1, "Harpsichord"]]

Additionally I don't immediatly see a way to create a crescendo or other amplitude variations within a single note's duration.  Nor a way to create relative volumes of notes within a chord. 

A am a complete newbie on these aspects of sounds (i.e., with sounds that are created to play with particular styles/instruments).  Creating ab initio waveforms are of course a possibility but are not what I am trhing to do at this point. 
POSTED BY: David Reiss
2 Replies
Midi is a constrained way to specify sound/music. My reading from wikipedia shows that microtones aren't a fundamental part of Midi, but are an optional additional standard which SoundNote doesn't seem to implement. My understanding is that it's using some common Java library for this purpose. See this for an example of someone asking something similar about microtones. There are other limitations in Midi such as a max of 15 simultaneous instruments for example.