Message Boards Message Boards

Examples of importing data (csv files) code snippets don't seem to work

I am new to WolframAlpha and Wolfram Language. I am trying to work with an imported csv file. I have been exploring the documentation, specifically:

https://reference.wolfram.com/language/ref/format/Table.html

and

https://reference.wolfram.com/language/ref/format/CSV.html

On both pages there seem to be examples that don't work. For example I can run:

Import["ExampleData/TreesOwnedByTheCityOfChampaign.csv"]

and the data is imported into the notebook (see screenshot). When I run the example provided in the documentation, though:

Import["ExampleData/TreesOwnedByTheCityOfChampaign.csv", "Dataset", "HeaderLines" -> 1]

I get an error:

"No Wolfram Language translation found" (see screenshot)

This happens with a number of examples such as:

DateListPlot[Import["ExampleData/financialtimeseries.csv"]]

In all cases the data seems to import properly, but none of the additional functions can be run on the data. Each of these examples comes straight from the documentation so I wonder if I am missing something fundamental about my setup.

Any help would be appreciated.

Notebook showing failed example code snippets

POSTED BY: Jared Cosulich
4 Replies

I really do not know what the problem is This example works Import["ExampleData/TreesOwnedByTheCityOfChampaign.csv"] and this example also works

Import["ExampleData/TreesOwnedByTheCityOfChampaign.csv", "Dataset", "HeaderLines" -> 1]

and this one too

DateListPlot[Import["ExampleData/financialtimeseries.csv"]]

I wonder why you try to use Wolfram Alpha exact commands? (BTW, the first WA example works too, so I stopped there)

I should note that I am on the WolframAlpha Notebook Edition on a Mac running MacOS Cataline (10.15.3) in case that may be the difference between your successful runs of the provided examples and my unsuccessful runs.