|
3 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Find the equation of a bisector of two given points InfiniteLine[{p1, p2}]

Posted 4 years ago

Hi All, I am new to Mathematica. But I have a background of using various other commercial software tools (and programming languages such as Python, C++, C, etc.) for simulations of physics based concepts and data science.

To answer a Mathematica problem of one of my friend's daughter (school task), I tried to find the equation of a bisector of two given points, A and B (A = {4, 0}, B = {0, -8} ). It is not a problem to determine the equation of the bisector using pen & paper. But the school wanted the student to use Mathematica.

I used the built in function PerpendicularBisector[{A, B}] And it returned the answer: InfiniteLine[{2, -4}, {-8, 4}] As we can see the 1st point (2, -4) is the mid point between A & B. But it is not apparent that the other point (-8, 4) lies on the equation of the perpendicular bisector (as the slope is not correct using the points (2, -3) and (-8,4). However when I plot the lines go through (2, -4) and InfiniteLine[{2, -4}, {-8, 4}] they do show correct lines.

I appreciate if someone can shed some light about the output provided by the built-in function PerpendicularBisector. *.nb file is attached for your reference.

Thank you. Fernando

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Julian Fernando
3 Replies

Lovely Michael! Thanks a lot!

Everything is consistent with your explanation. And thank you for directing me to the right documentation.

POSTED BY: Julian Fernando
Posted 4 years ago

Hello Julian, InfiniteLine supports two types of arguments, InfiniteLine[{p1,p2}] and InfiniteLine[ p1, direction ]; I attached a screenshot from the documentation on InfiniteLine (M12.1) enter image description here