Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
3 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Help with a system model of a motion-capture camera set?

Posted 4 years ago

A room-scale tracking system built with SystemModeler. Features include synchronized shutters on 4 to 8 cameras with IRED arrays surrounding each camera lens for tracking spherical retroreflective "markers" in 3D. An optical system for 3D measurement similar to Vicon, Simi, Motion Analysis, Qualisys, or even an electromagnetic 6DoF system like Polhemus.

Even just some advice on where to start: model libraries of an image chip or lens, or a built camera. The ray tracing methodology is a fairly simple concept that has been in use for 40 years.

POSTED BY: Jebb Remelius
3 Replies
Posted 4 years ago

This sounds like a really interesting project! I am also new to SystemModeler, so I am really just brainstorming here.

There has been work on camera models in Modelica. You would need to know the physical coordinates of all of the trackers and run them through the camera model for each camera. Also, I would think computing occlusions would be difficult, but if you are familiar with ray-tracing strategies, I suppose that would work.

After you can model how the tracker coordinates would turn into pixel measurements in the CMOS chips, you could use blob detection to extract the finalized xy pixel-space coordinates of the trackers visible to each camera. Otherwise, you could just assume the tracker has a tiny size and project it through the camera equation and round to an integer to get the center pixel value.