Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
10 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Finding piecewise function based on set of points?

Posted 3 years ago

Does anyone know if this is possible? My goal is for my input to be a set of data/2d points ({x0,y0},{x1,y1},...,{xn,yn}) and the output to be some piecewise function. Here's what I mean. I know I can use ListLinePlot to graph all my points and connect them with lines but that seems to be a purely visual tool. I want to know if there's a way to sort of "extract" the equations of those lines such that they form some continuous piecewise function. Obviously it can be done manually but I'm working with sets of hundreds of points. I'm a novice user and haven't yet learned all the ins and outs of Mathematica so any help would be greatly appreciated.

POSTED BY: Jose Hernandez
10 Replies
Posted 3 years ago

@Jim Baldwin I think that may be exactly what I was looking for! Many thanks to you and @Neil Singer. You don't know how much I appreciate it!

Posted 3 years ago

Hmmm. It looks like Piecewise, Table, and Simplify will do all of the work for you:

(* Make up some data *)
data = {{0, 1}, {1/4, 5/4}, {1/2, 3/2}, {1, 2}, {3/2, 2}, {2, 2}, {3, 1}, {4, 1}};
data = Sort[data, #1[[1]] <= #2[[1]] &];  (* Make sure it's sorted by the first coordinate *)

(* Define a Piecewise function *)
f[x_, data_] := Piecewise[Table[{data[[i - 1, 2]] + (x - data[[i - 1, 1]]) (data[[i - 1, 2]] - data[[i, 2]])/(data[[i - 1, 1]] - data[[i, 1]]) // Expand,
     data[[i - 1, 1]] <= x <= data[[i, 1]]}, {i, 2, Length[data]}]] //Simplify

(* Use function on the data *)
g = f[z, data]

Piecewise function

(* Plot the results *)
ListPlot[data]

Data plot

Plot[g, {z, 0, 4}, PlotRange -> {Automatic, {0, Max[data[[All, 2]]]}}]

Piecewise plot

POSTED BY: Jim Baldwin
Posted 3 years ago