Message Boards Message Boards

Get NDSolve to not crash while solving a pde?

I am attempting to solve a pde, but after executing for a long period of time, I don't get a solution. It seems Mathematica crashes as all variables in the notebook are rendered void of values. [I am running on MacBook Pro, v. 10.15.7, 16GB RAM, Mathematica version 12.1.1.0]. Thanks a lot for any help.

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Praveen Kumar
4 Replies
Posted 3 years ago

Tested on 12.2.0.0. I aborted it after consumption of 80GBytes of memory.

FWIW When I encounter or anticipate this sort of issue in production code, I usually wrap the operation in a VerificationTest[], with constraints on time and/or memory as required. That way I don't lose the whole kernel when the function runs away, and any messages are caught and available for debugging.

POSTED BY: kirk reinholtz

Thank you, Kirk. I am new to using Mathematica so still learning. I hope to get some guidance on how we can solve the problem. Do you think it is running out of memory in which chase I could consider running it on a larger machine? Thanks so much.

Posted 3 years ago

Yes, you are running out of memory. I monitored the kernel memory consumption to confirm. When you feel you lost control of the kernel, you want to check your kernel process size: that's often the cause. Of course there may be other challenges, that's just the first layer of the onion...