|
11 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Solving a system of nonlinear equations with inequality constraints

Posted 3 years ago

Hi! I'm pretty new to Mathematica, am I am having trouble trying to solve a system of nonlinear equations. In this example I have 5 equations, with 4 inequality constraints. I've looked through the forums, and found an example (seen as the second example) using FindInstance, so I tried to use it for my problem, but unlike the one I found on the forum, when I try to execute my command (the top one), I don't get an output. I know this series of nonlinear equations should have valid solutions because I found some solutions on MATLAB, but I'm trying to double check my answers.

Also, if FindInstance isn't the right command for this, please let me know. I know about Solve and Reduce, but I don't know how to incorporate inequality constraints with those commands. Thanks in advance!

POSTED BY: Sabrina Chui
11 Replies
Posted 3 years ago

Thank you for the explanation. That helps.

In your last Reduce you were asking it to solve for iy and there was no iy in the equations. Try

Reduce[{95/100(-2/10a2x(1-ix/40)+5/(a2x+a2y-14))==0,
    95/100(-2/10a2y(1-ix/40)+5/(a2x+a2y-14))==0,
    ix^(-1/2)+95/100*1/400a2x^2==0},{a2x,a2y,ix}]//N

which returns

(a2x == -0.1807-7.9448*I && a2y == -0.1807-7.9448*I && ix == 44.26804+4.0376*I) ||
(a2x == -0.1807+7.9448*I && a2y == -0.1807+7.9448*I && ix == 44.26804-4.0376*I)

If I haven't made a mistake then that is no better because it only finds three complex values.

That //N turns the large complicated exact roots into approximate decimal numbers so it is possible to see the form of the results.

Since in earlier problems you seemed to have plausible results that were not at the boundaries of your constraints it seems that there may be some problem in the formulation of those three equations now.

POSTED BY: Bill Nelson
Posted 3 years ago