|
|
4 Replies
|
4 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Managing variable names in notebooks?

I'm new to Mathematica. Where do I find documentation explaining how functions and variables that I define are handled when I have multiple notebooks open? I need to know things like:

1. How do I list names I've defined in a specific notebook? For instance, I define f[x]:=x^2 and y=x. I want an easy way to see that names f and y are defined.
  2. What is the Mathematica terminology that distinguishes between names I've used (like x above) verses names that have assigned meaning (like f and y above)?
  3. How do I get Mathematica to remind me what the definition of f in this notebook, as opposed to telling me what f is in all open notebooks?
  4. Is there a way to partition a notebook so that names don't interfere with each other?
POSTED BY: Jay Gourley
4 Replies

I do a lot of practice with two or three notebooks open. So I simply clear all Global Variables at the beginning of each document, ClearAll["Global`*"]. Useful for stuff only I'm going to see.

POSTED BY: John Baxter
Posted 3 years ago

Hi Jay,

When I share a notebook with someone else I add an initialization cell with

CurrentValue[$FrontEndSession, CellContext] = Notebook

so any symbol definitions are scoped to a unique context specific to the notebook. That way I don't pollute their Global context with my stuff and vice-versa.

I prefer working with notebook specific contexts all the time. The setting can be make permanent by evaluating

CurrentValue[$FrontEnd, CellContext] = Notebook
POSTED BY: Rohit Namjoshi
Posted 3 years ago

You should also be aware of "contexts". In a notebook, the current context is Global`, given by $Context. If you want to get a list of symbols you have created, evaluate Names["Global*"]`.