Message Boards Message Boards

Some ideas for a next gen Wolfram Language

Posted 2 years ago

I like this post although is quite old and I have my own definition of better.. or somewhat of what is missing therefore I created this new post. I am also new to this planet and therefore, pardon me if I don't know much of Mathematica either, but these are a few first impressions.

In general automated theorem proving or computed checked proofs are not accepted cause people one one side have no clue of what is going and on the other side may ultimately loose their jobs cause they don't have enough knowledge to keep up. The first one can be improved with better features of "the software", in this case Mathematica, the second not cause is essentially a culture thing and for the layman it can be summarized into a "not invented here syndrome". This same problem goes more or less with the Wolfram language, and I would like to know more recent feelings from the community, given the original post is from 7 years ago now.

When you throw in NDSolve or similar stuff there is quire a lot happening under the hoods, and the user have no way to understand what is going on, there is a bit of the same problem of explainable AI, where people will not socially accept an AI algorithm as far as it cannot reasonably explain what the neural network does internally. Same apply here when you run a command you would like to have some shape of printout of all the internal computational steps that can be human readable & usable, even better that can be put into a publication, whether this is a numerical solver or just a piece of algebra. Then all these internal steps can be verified by humans that have enough time and patience, but is no longer debatable whether the extracted result is correct or not, and whether the error is in the engine of the car on in the driver of the car.