Message Boards Message Boards

Error using OutputResponse?

Hi everyone, i have the next problem, this is my transferfunction as you can see its a firts order system with time death delay

gf = TransferFunctionModel[{{{13.138*E^(-1.919*s)}}, {{1 + 
      171.18*s}}}, s]

I use PIDtune to get a PIDcontrol for my system:

Gc = PIDTune[gf, "PID", "ReferenceOutput"]

the I want to see the output response, but it gives me an error evaluating the system, and I was trying, it always happens when I put a system delayed with:

out1 = OutputResponse[Gc, 4.5, {t, 1, 100}];

enter image description here

You know I'm really disappointed with this, I was finding by myself at least 3 days, but I didn't find nothing and documentation about outputresponse its not really helpful because outputresponse doesn't have options, I'm new in this so I hope you can help me, I'm very grateful for your time reading this.

Jairo,

I do not know the inner workings for PIDTune, however, it appears to have difficulty with the derivative for a system with such a long time delay. If you use a PI controller with some options, you get a reasonable response. For example,

Gc = PIDTune[gf, {"PI", "AMIGO"}, "ReferenceOutput"];
out1 = OutputResponse[Gc, UnitStep[t], {t, 0, 1000}];
Plot[out1, {t, 0, 1000}, PlotRange -> All]

Takes the open loop response of

Plot[Evaluate@
  OutputResponse[gf, UnitStep[t]/13.138, {t, 0, 1000}], {t, 0, 1000}, 
 PlotRange -> All]

and turns it into this: