Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to put a frame around a group of cells?

Posted 10 years ago
I am new to Mathematica, I am trying to write some notes to my students. I would like to put a frame around a group of cells in the notebook, but when I am trying to change the style of the outer grouping cell to "framed", the inner cells become individually framed. This is not what I want, I would like a frame only outside with the inner cells unframed. Can you please suggest what to do and/or direct me to a tutorial?
Thanks, Ferenc
POSTED BY: Ferenc Beleznay
4 Replies
One approach is to make use of the Cell options CellFrame and CellMargins to build up the frame around multiple cells using partial frames around the set of cells.  Using CellFrame, the first cell has frame elements at the top and sides. The inside cells have frame elements around the sides only.  And the bottom has frame elements on the sides and the bottom. Then using CellMargins the vertical distances between the cells is made 0 so that they abutt.  Here is a programmatic example, but you can use the option inspector to make these changes interactively.  Also one cold write a function that does this for a selection of cells and then put that function into a button and then into a palette if one wished.  (Tweaking this all so it works in a more general case requires also playing with CellFrameMargins option settings. This is just a quick proof of concept example...)
 CellPrint[{TextCell[StringJoin[Table["abcd ", {20}]], "Text",
    CellFrame -> {{True, True}, {False, True}},
    CellMargins -> {{200, 200}, {0, 0}}],
   TextCell[StringJoin[Table["abcd ", {20}]], "Text",
    CellFrame -> {{True, True}, {False, False}},
    CellFrame -> {{True, True}, {False, False}},
   CellFrame -> {{True, True}, {True, False}},
   CellMargins -> {{200, 200}, {0, 0}}]}]