Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
1 Reply
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Are there any jobs out there that use Mathematica?

Hello all, I have been working on technical analysis algorithms since the year 2000. As an Electrical Engineer with a Ph.D., with a specialization in signal processing and Pattern Recognition as well as 18 years of teaching Computer Science at a large University's Computer Science Department, I developed an interest in Technical Analysis {TA} of stocks and other instruments.

This interest came about when I was hired by a startup that wanted to provide trading signals. I originally thought that TA was, "Voodoo" as I called it. Well after 20 years of studying it, I have come to a more nuanced view and my role as researcher and software architect, addicted me.

I ended up writing algorithms to find all trendlines and all the associated trendline patterns (TP)(channels, triangles (ascending, descending, symmetric), flags, pennants and broadening formations. I also wrote algorithms that detect all the possible Elliott Wave Decompositions (EWD) of any stock movement and then detect the patterns formed by these EWDs. You can read about some of the patterns here

One can think of these EWs as the letters of a language and the patterns are the words. Certain words seem to be associated with certain following letters or words.

There is also a very nice mathematical framework that generalizes the recognition of trendline patterns. The patterns are simply the pairs of Support-Resistance trendlines where the confirmations of the trendlines follow certain rules. Having detected those patterns, one can be alerted of breakouts from those patterns.