|
8 Replies
|
4 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Plotting piecewise function?

Posted 1 year ago

I'm new to Mathematica and am having a LOT of trouble getting around the program. I've read some of the documentation online and it doesn't seem to answer anything for me, nor does it address my issue.

Please do not link to the documentation when answering my question. I just want some good, step by step instructions written here.

1. How do I graph a function? I know there is a "plot" command and that you have to enter things like you would on an old MS-DOS computer. I can't find any way to do things graphically.

Say I want to graph f(x) = x^2 + 3. What will make this come up visually for me, as in a drawn out graph on the screen like I'd get on Desmos or even a TI-84?

1. How do I see that I am in a cell? Is it like a Word text box where I can clearly see the boundaries or is there some other way...or do I just have to go blindly into this?

2. How do I graph a piecewise function? I know I sort of need to get #1 first, but I'm sure there are more loops to go through for this.

I should mention that I am used to computer programs that use buttons, not typing things, and I'm not good at all with computer programming languages. I still don't know how to write a Java program without looking at the book.

POSTED BY: Scott B
8 Replies
Posted 1 year ago

I should mention that I am used to computer programs that use buttons, not typing things, and I'm not good at all with computer programming languages.

Let's start there. The Wolfram Language is a programming language. Mathematica provides a notebook interface in which you can execute Wolfram Langauge code. So, if you want to make progress with Wolfram/Mathematica, you're going to need to get over this impedence, at least to some degree.

I just want some good, step by step instructions... Say I want to graph f(x) = x^2 + 3....