Message Boards Message Boards

NIntegrate failed to converge

Hello,

I'm trying to use Mathematica to get some estimates on temperature changes caused by a heating sphere, but I'm having trouble getting my integrals to work out. On one I receive an error stating

"NIntegrate failed to converge to prescribed accuracy after 9 \ recursive bisections in y near {y} = {0.}. NIntegrate obtained \ 2.1733836446519685*^12 and 2.1623442093769382*^12 for the integral \ and error estimates. "

On another is says

NIntegrate::izero: Integral and error estimates are 0 on all integration subregions. Try increasing the value of the MinRecursion option. If value of integral may be 0, specify a finite value for the AccuracyGoal option. >>

I'm rather new to Mathematica, and I'm not sure how to approach problem solving this. Can anyone give some suggestions?

I've attached the relevant notebook file,

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Scott Shaw
Posted 10 years ago
  1. If you are trying to ensure that r and y do not have a previously assigned value before attempting an integral then use Clear[ r ] instead of r=r.

2. You have combinations of extremely large and extremely small numbers, compounded by E^(-15500000000 y^2) inside your integral over y from 0 to Infinity. With that exponential inside your integral I suspect you can integrate over a far far smaller range and get almost exactly the same value. Without checking in detail I integrated from 0 to 1 and suspect even that is far wider than need be. You might think through your integrand and estimate how small a range could be used. Doing that should help speed it up and minimize some of the accuracy issues.