Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to Create a Function In Two Variables With a Domain Restriction?

Posted 10 years ago

Hello everybody! I'm a novice Mathematica user, and I have a problem I'd like to get some help plugging into Mathematica. I'm rewriting a function that is in terms of (x, y) coordinates in terms of the angle those coordinates form instead, and I am able to put the function into Mathematica and plug in values one at a time. However, I'd like to be able to view the results of the function when hundreds of values are plugged in, in order to see what value(s) it approaches. The problem is that I don't know how to express in terms Mathematica can understand the fact that, when plugging values into this function, 2y>x and x?y. For neatness' sake, I'd also like to be able to arrange the values plugged into the function and the resulting output values into a table, if that's not impossible as well.

This is what I've come up with so far, but the values of x and y are not restricted as I'd like. Also, the table isn't good at showing what output values correspond to what input values. {Table[ArcTan[(y*Sqrt[3])/(2*x + y)], {x, 10}], {y, 10}}

Any help that you can provide would be fantastic. Thank you so much!

POSTED BY: Griffin Glenn
4 Replies
Posted 10 years ago

Ah, far far more helpful, That Excel sheet was just what was needed to see exactly how you wanted the result presented.

I think this does it

data = Select[Flatten[Table[{x, y}, {x, 1, 10}, {y, 1, 10}], 1], ({x, y} = #; 2*y > x && x >= y)&];
MatrixForm[ Map[{{x, y} = #; x, y, ArcTan[(y*Sqrt[3])/(2*x+y)], N[ArcTan[(y*Sqrt[3])/(2*x+y)]]}&, data]]

If you run that you should see it almost duplicates what you want. It doesn't provide the header across the top. I tried and failed with that.

The first line makes up all possible x,y pairs and then selects only those that satisfy your conditions.