Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
3 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Syntax for complex numbers in Wolfram Alpha?

Posted 11 months ago

Hello,

i am new to wolfram alpha but i want to try using it more. when i type:

A=1, B=2 trying to let wolfram alpha solve this: it gives out result=3. so all fine

now i try the thing in the picture and it says it cant understand the syntax. what am i doing wrong?

https://www.wolframalpha.com/input?i2d=true&i=S%3DDivide%5BDivide%5BB%2CZ%5D%2BCZ%2CA%2BDivide%5BB%2CZ%5D%2BCZ%2BD%5D+and+A%3DR%2BDivide%5BiwL%2CiwM%5D+and+D%3DA+and+C%3DDivide%5B1%2CiwM%5D+and++B%3DDivide%5B2iwM%5C%2840%29R%2Biw%5C%2840%29L-M%5C%2841%29%5C%2841%29%2BPower%5B%5C%2840%29R%2Biw%5C%2840%29L-M%5C%2841%29%5C%2841%29%2C2%5D%2CiwM%5D+solve+for+S

Attachment

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Endrik Bürger
3 Replies
Posted 11 months ago

It looks like your expression is big enough that it may exceed the buffer size inside WA.

I tried entering a slightly simplified version of your problem

solve s=(b/z+cz)/(a+b/z+cz+d), a=r+(iwl)/(iwm), d=a, c=1/(iwm) for s

WA page for this

and it seems like WA understood that.

Then I tried a second step where I inserted the value for b, that I left out of the first step, into the result provided by the first step.

s=((2iwm*(r+iw(l-m))+(r+iw(l-m))^2)/(iwm)mw-iz^2)/((2iwm*(r+iw(l-m))+(r+iw(l-m))^2)/(iwm)mw+2mrwz-iz^2)

WA page for this

It looks like it was just barely able to fit into the buffer and WA was able to understand that and gave a solution for s.

If in the second step I instead I tried "solve s=..." from the first step followed by "b=..." then again it didn't appear that it would fit and WA was not able to understand that.

For larger problems, trying to find a way to successfully break a large problem into smaller steps has been very useful in the past.

You just need, as always, to be very careful to check that the results are correct.

POSTED BY: Bill Nelson
Posted 11 months ago