Message Boards Message Boards

Introducing the Wolfram ProteinVisualization paclet!

Posted 10 months ago

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Soutick Saha
14 Replies

6-4-23 How does this apply to any given amino acid sequence - is it possible to run any sequence? What length _ how many amino acids? Does it calculated energies of any conformations? Any other descriptive and instructional details? How does one typically run the packet installations for iMac? Apologies< I’m new at Mathematica.

Hi Paul,

Thanks a lot for your message. Here are the answers to your questions :

Q1. How does this apply to any given amino acid sequence - is it possible to run any sequence?

Ans : Unfortunately no. In general all functions in the paclet only plots for structures present in the RCSB Protein Data Bank (https://www.rcsb.org/) or if you have the structure file in .cif.gz or .pdb format.

Q2. What length _ how many amino acids?

Ans : That completely depends on the structure you want to explore. There is no upper or lower bound to it.

Q3. Does it calculated energies of any conformations?

Ans : No. This paclet basically uses existing protein structure data to do various things, that does involve some computations like dihedral angles (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dihedral_angle), distance matrix and so on, but no energy calculations.

Q4. Any other descriptive and instructional details?

Ans: All instructions can be found in individual documentation pages for functions (See : https://resources.wolframcloud.com/PacletRepository/resources/WolframChemistry/ProteinVisualization/guide/ProteinVisualization.html) and click on individual links to explore the documentations.

Q5. How does one typically run the packet installations for iMac?

Ans : Just download the notebook attach to this post, run it and get started.

Hope this answers your questions.

Best, Soutick

See if you can find the paclet on a remote server using PacletFindRemote: enter image description here

POSTED BY: Robert Nachbar