Message Boards Message Boards

What is the best accuracy available, of PDE solving?

Posted 6 months ago

Hi, I need to obtain numerical solutions to a certain nonlinear evolutionary PDE (one-dimensional reaction diffusion PDE on finite spatial and finite temporal intervals). I have no experience with using MATHEMATICA for this. The trouble is I would need the best possible accuracy. Ideally, the relative errors should be at the level of 10^(-19). Is there any built-in method available, which would be so accurate and able to produce results in a time not exceeding 72 hours?
Leslaw

POSTED BY: Leslaw Bieniasz
2 Replies
Posted 5 months ago

Perhaps Piecewise:

tmax = 25;
xmax = 6*Sqrt[tmax];
ic[t_?NumericQ] := Piecewise[{{-1, t > 0}}, 0];
sol = NDSolve[{D[c[x, t], t] == D[c[x, t], {x, 2}] - c[x, t]^2, 
   c[x, 0] == 0, Derivative[1, 0][c][0, t] == ic[t], c[xmax, t] == 0},
   c, {x, 0, xmax}, {t, 0, tmax}]
Plot3D[Evaluate[c[x, t] /. sol], {x, 0, xmax}, {t, 0, tmax}, 
 PlotRange -> All]

Or Interpolation[]:

ic = Interpolation[{{{0.}, 0.}, {{0.001}, -1., 0., 0.}, {{100.}, -1.}}];
(* other code stays the same *)
POSTED BY: Updating Name
Posted 6 months ago

Hello again, To be more specific, here is the problem I have been willing to solve with a high accuracy:

tmax=25;
xmax=6*Sqrt[tmax];
sol=NDSolve[{D[c[x,t],t]==D[c[x,t],{x,2}]-c[x,t]^2,c[x,0]==0,Derivative[1,0][c][0,t]==-1,c[xmax,t]==0},c,{x,0,xmax},{t,0,tmax}]
Plot3D[Evaluate[c[x,t]/.sol],{x,0,xmax},{t,0,tmax}]