Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
2 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Fitting Data to Stochastic Differential Equation (ITO Process)

Posted 10 years ago

Hello everybody,

First of all let me say that i am glad to be here. This will be my very first post. I am a student at Virginia Tech, and my major is Industrial Engineering. The topic that I have some questions about are not discussed in my curriculum; however, I have become very interested in the past 6 months. Mathematica has been great in helping me visualize and understand some of the concepts, even-though i am as new to this program as I am to the subject. I will try to make my question as clear as possible.

If I define a simple process as such:

simpleproc[[Mu]_, [Sigma]_] = ItoProcess[
[DifferentialD]x[t] == [Mu]*[DifferentialD]t + [Sigma] [DifferentialD]w[t], x[t], {x, 0}, t, w [Distributed] WienerProcess[]];

Since, mu and sigma are constant - I can take the observed data for variable " x " - estimate the parameters for a Normal Distribution then directly substitute those values to the drift, and volatility of the diffusion. Easy so far.

Now I am attempting to model a Stochastic Damped Harmonic Oscillator with a random driven force, which I found in a book called "Modeling with Ito Stochastic Differential Equations" from Dr. Allen.E. Here is the model:

Eq 1. d x(t) = v(t) dt Eq. 2 d M(t) = (-k x(t) - b v(t)) dt + Sqrt(2 gamma^2 lamda) d W(t),

where M is the momentum, k is the coefficient of friction, b is the damping coefficient, and most importantly gamma and lambda are change in momentum, and the unknown probability of that change for a dt, respectively.

Since, the above equations have x, v and m - I divided both sides of equation 2 by 100 kg (fixed mass) since d M = m * d v. The we get:

proc[k_, b_, [Lambda]_, [Gamma]_] = ItoProcess[{
           [DifferentialD]x[t] == v[t] [DifferentialD]t,