Message Boards Message Boards

HELP Needed --- Every Japanese to be called SATO by 2531"

Hello!

I'm a teacher of journalism at the international EDJ school in Nice FR

My students have access to Mathematica 14 (but they mainly use chat-driven notebooks as the wolfram language is sort of complicated to them).

Anyway. As part of the "Data Journalism" course I want to give them the assignment to read this article https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13266707/Everyone-Japan-called-Sato-year-2531-countrys-marriage-laws.html

It tells the story of a Tohoku University economics professor that concluded that, given how married couples in jpn drop one of their family names in favour of both individuals taking the same one everyone will be called "SATO" by 2531.

I'd like the students to perform the same simulation for their own country (after finding out the candidate family name -- for Italy that would probably be "Rossi")

Now, after some digging I've found in this PDF https://think-name.jp/assets/pdf/Sato_estimation_yoshida_hiroshi.pdf

the method used to perform the calculation for Japan:

Handling of Past Data

First, we obtained the number of people with the Sato surname in Japan from the data provided and published by "Myoji-yurai.net" (https://myoji-yurai.net/), which covers more than 99.04% of Japanese surnames.

Next, we divided the number of people with the Sato surname by the total population of Japan for each year (estimated by the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications) * 99.04% to obtain the "ratio of the Sato surname in a given year t": x(t).