Message Boards Message Boards

Graphing a Quadratic

Posted 10 years ago

Hi all, I'm new to Mathematica and I'm not really familiar to the Mathematica functions and the language. Could any of you help me plot a quadratic with the following characteristics:

• vertex at (1.5, 1.75)
  • roots at roots

('i' means the imaginary number 'i') How would I be able to do this?

Thanks a lot!

POSTED BY: Jaewon Sim
5 Replies

Yes, it turned out that, in the case of your equation, the one I wrote

4 - 3 x + x^2

evaluated at x=1.5 is in fact 1.75

4 - 3 x + x^2/.x->1.5

so the coefficient in your case was a=1.

But what if you wanted to determine a? Well, first off you could do that with pencil and paper! It is a trivial bit of algebra to solve for a from the equation

y==a(x-b)(x-c)

(note that I corrected your equation since you used 'a' as both the overall factor and as one of the roots) You can do this in your head!

a== y/((x-b)(x-c))

Of course you could use the full power of Mathematica to do this

In[1]:= Solve[y == a (x - b) (x - c), a]

Out[1]= {{a -> -(y/((b - x) (-c + x)))}}

So this brings me to a small bit of advice... ;-)