|
4 Replies
|
8 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to use do, for, while loops?

Posted 10 years ago

I'm new to mathematica and I'm trying to teach myself a few things before taking a class in it. I am currently trying to write a program that calculates 10! I know that I need a do and while loop. But I'm stuck. This is what I've got so far (it is probably nonsense so sorry in advance). The question marks are what I need help on. Thanks again!

Do[ For[i = 1, i < 21, i++, ? While[i < 21, print[n*i]? ]]]

POSTED BY: Alice Bishop
4 Replies

And a good book to work your way though is the following:

http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Mathematica-Introduction-Paul-Wellin/dp/1107009464/

I think that Szabolcs would agree with me that the next important step for you would be to spend time learning (by working through a course like this book or the on-line course that he pointed you to) how to program in Mathematica--and essential to this is to work many examples. Good luck!

POSTED BY: David Reiss

Here are several examples which should get you started:

With Do:

a = 1;
Do[
 a = a k,
 {k, 1, 10}
 ]
a

With For:

a = 1;
For[k = 1, k <= 10, k++,
 a = a k
]

With While:

a = 1;
k = 1;
While[k <= 10,
 a = a k++
 ]
a

These are called procedural constructs and they are not what we usually use in Mathematica (though they're definitely necessary and advantageous in some situations)

You could also use Apply:

Times @@ Range[10]

Or Fold:

Fold[Times, 1, Range[10]]

Or recursive programming:

fact[1] = 1;
fact[n_] := fact[n - 1] n
fact[10]

If you are a beginner in Mathematica I recommend that you avoid For for now in favour of Do or While. Use it only if:

• You're facing one of the very rare cases when it really provides a simpler solution than the alternatives

• You are translating code from a language which has an analogous for construct (C, C++, Java, etc.) and you want to minimize the risk of messing up something, at least during the first pass of translation