|
|
2 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

"Reading Handwritten Numbers on Data Sheet"

This is a sample data sheet "I have a lot of these and the task is relatively simple. I want to read the Image into Mathematica, then extract a table of "0" and "1" values where the underlines on the data sheet are. If each underline on the sheet is a cell, then the rule is: Assign a "0" whereever the cell is blank (only has underline). Assign a "1" if there is a mark that looks like a "1" in the cell. Export the table to a data file or spreadsheet.

does anyone have experience with this type of task?" Thanks

POSTED BY: William Shankle
2 Replies

I'm not an expert on this area by any measure, but let's take a look at one part of your image:

enter image description here

Given an image with some horizontal lines, how can tell which ones have a check over them?

1. First, let's clean up the image. I like LocalAdaptiveBinarize for this. Finding the right coefficients for the function can done nicely with Manipulate

Manipulate[
     LocalAdaptiveBinarize[image, 10, {a, b, c}],
     {{a, .6}, -2, 2}, {{b, 2}, -2, 2}, {{c, 0}, -1, 1}]

clean = LocalAdaptiveBinarize[image, 10, {-0.15, 2, 0.05}]

2. Get rid of the horizontal lines in the image with a Sobel filter. I basically stole this form the documentation. Then clean up the results a bit:

checks = DeleteSmallComponents@ImageConvolve[clean, {{-1, 0, 1}, {-2, 0, 2}, {-1, 0, 1}}] 

3. "Subtract" the checks from the original image to get an image with just the horizontal lines. I had to make the checks a bit bigger with dilation to make sure they were completely removed. ImageAdd was used because the previous result was a negative.

lines = ImageAdd[clean, Dilation[checks, 1]]

4. The last image called "lines" needs to be cleaned up a bit. This is done by removing some small components from the image, dilating the results to ensure that lines are connected and then thinning them out again.

Thinning[