|
11 Replies
|
16 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Understanding Wolfram Language programs

Posted 9 years ago

I am very new to Mathematica, and the Wolfram Language. I have been going through various demonstration files, and I am finding it surprisingly difficult to 'grok' the code. I have experienced this problem with other Lisp-like languages, and it seems to be driven by having to read the programs 'inside out'.

What I would like to understand is whether this is something that just goes away with time & experience, i.e. for highly experienced Mathematica programmers, do you find you just read the code naturally. Or, do you break apart people's code, perhaps using intermediate variables, in order to understand the various elements?

If you do break it apart, are there any tools that help? For instance, is there a way to unbundle function calls, and format them as chained functions - which is what I find myself doing.

POSTED BY: Andrew Burnett
11 Replies

The demonstrations code isn't good code to start with. I would have found it overwhelming and confusing when I started. I always recommend going through the virtual book and reading documentation examples.

You're right that it's very easy to make dense unreadable code in practically any lisp like language. Some of the coding styles I've seen used in the demonstrations are very difficult to piece together.

I find well written Wolfram Language code easy to read. More so than even, say, Python. But badly written code is always hard to read.

I don't know of any tools like you describe existing in any language. I'm not sure how it would know how to unbundle and un-nest the functions in a way that made it readable. Ideally, well written code is like that anyway.

POSTED BY: Sean Clarke

Hi Andy,

the relevant things are already said above. I just want to make a minor remark: One can easily write simple "help functions" to make complicated pieces of code more understandable, e.g.: