|
|
9 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:
GROUPS:

What is the syntax error in this expression?

Posted 9 years ago

In[33] was copied and pasted from the Mathematica language syntax tutorial, which evaluates as expected from the tutorial. In[34] is my attempt to type this symbolically myself, which gives a syntax error/incomplete expression. The only visible difference to me is that the letters "n" are both gray in the correct expression, but they are blue in the incorrect one. I assume this means they are somehow linked in the former, but I don't know how to reproduce this. New to Mathematica language, thanks in advance for help!

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Rose Yntema
9 Replies

I'm no coder but....I think it's because you put: Zeta[s] instead of: s = Zeta[n]...I might be wrong, but it seems like that to me.

POSTED BY: Joshua Champion

The Zeta was just the evaluation of the expression (output). It's not anything I typed. I had another notebook file where I typed my sum expression first and it didn't work then either.

Here is a screenshot of each expression in a new, clean notebook. I am trying to figure out why the sum I type will not evaluate, but the sum I copy-paste from a tutorial does evaluate to the correct Zeta[s] output.

Attachments:

I suggest you look at FullForm of the expression that doesn't work to figure out what's going on. enter image description here

POSTED BY: Frank Kampas

Thanks for your response, Frank! However, this unfortunately doesn't work for me, because the syntax error is preventing any output from being returned in order to show me the full form. It only shows me the full form if I use it on the correct expression.