|
|
6 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:
GROUPS:

Mathematica for Raspberry Pi running Unbuntu Mate. How to install?

Posted 9 years ago

Just purchased as Raspberry Pi 2. Was very excited to see a light version of Unbuntu (Ubuntu Mate) available for the Rpi recommended on the Raspberry Pi website. Ubuntu Mate looks very promising, however I have not been able to install Mathematica via "sudo apt-get install..."

I am assuming that the install scripts check the OS and not the hardware???

Is there a way to install Mathematica on the Raspberry platform from the Ubuntu Mate OS? I'd hate to have to switch back to Raspbian just to run Mathematica occasionally.

I'm a very long time Mathematica user. Been using it since it first came out, version 1.0 on a unix box 1987/1988. As a Mechanical Engineer I've done some very amazing things with it, (it will sing and dance for me). Unfortunately, I seem to use it more at home than work. Many employers are reluctant to purchase it for me, (less than half).

I'm a big fan of the software.

POSTED BY: Michael Sciascia
6 Replies

At this time, Raspbian is the only supported operating system for the Raspberry Pi and Raspberry Pi 2.

Ian

POSTED BY: Ian Johnson
Posted 9 years ago

What is even worse, only the "old" Raspbian aka Debian "Wheezy" aka Version 6 is supported. I upgraded my Pi 2 to Raspbian "Jessie" aka Version 7, and found out that the Mathematica package has disappeared. I asked Wolfram Support, was sent to this forum, posted a question about this issue and received no reply. :-(

So no, looks like if you want to use Mathematica on the Pi 2 then you have to stick with Raspbian "Wheezy".

POSTED BY: Andras Aszodi

So no, looks like if you want to use Mathematica on the Pi 2 then you have to stick with Raspbian "Wheezy".

Though not officially supported for now, it is possible to use Mathematica with Raspbian Jessie.

More details are posted in the StackExchange thread.

POSTED BY: Ilian Gachevski