|
4 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Wrong result in mathematical model

Posted 9 years ago

I am a retired Electrical engineer, I have coded a model of a full wave rectified power supply. I have been using the model in Mathematica and Matlab.

The results are very close to what is expected with the Matlab model. However, Mathematica is giving the result for variable "BleederDischTime" off by a factor of 10^6 power. The equations are identical in the Mathematica model and the Matlab model. They were cut and pasted from Matlab to Mathematica. With proper fixing up of function brackets and equal signs of course. This truly appears to be a mathematica "bug" to me. I have to divide the "BleederDischTime" result, in Mathematica by 10^6 to get the same result Matlab gives without the same division. What is interesting is that I use a factor 0f 10^6 to convert Farads to Microfarads after the calculations are done for output. It seems unrelated to the "wrong result" described above. What could be going on here? I will post the Mathematica and identical Matlab files here. Thank you all!

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Kent J Jarvis
4 Replies
Posted 9 years ago

Ok, to be specific, I think I see now exactly what happened.

The way you defined things, when you do

BleederDichTime := ....

The value of CValue is one thing.

Then just a bit later, you change CValue (multiply it by 1000000).

Then, later, you print out BleederDichTime, and it evaluates the expression with the NEW value of CValue.

So everything is acting precisely as it should...

POSTED BY: Todd Moyer
Posted 9 years ago

Ok Todd, I get it. I need to be careful of delayed referencing.