Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
8 Replies
|
7 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to write a specific looping math function over a list?

Posted 9 years ago

I am new to Mathematica and have been having a lot of trouble performing a specific calculation. One which is simple enough to do in Excel, but I want to do it in this program.

In Excel, you would just put, into cell B2 "=A1-B1" where B1 is a constant. So if I have a list of numbers in Column A, I can just autofill the formula in B2 down the column and get a new list.

Thus far I have discovered: FoldList[Subtract, Z, M]

where Z is my constant and M is my list of numbers. While I do not get an error at least, I think the output is reversed from what I want. In terms of the Excel formula, I believe it is subtracting B1 from A1. How do I do the calculation I am aiming to achieve?

POSTED BY: Corina Cooling
8 Replies

In Excel, you would just put, into cell B2 "=A1-B1" where B1 is a constant. So if I have a list of numbers in Column A, I can just autofill the formula in B2 down the column and get a new list.

May be I am not understanding the question fully, since I do not use Excel. But why not write

b1 = 99;
a1 = {1, 2, 3, 4};
b2 = a1 - b1
  (* {-98, -97, -96, -95} *)
POSTED BY: Nasser M. Abbasi
Posted 9 years ago

Corina,

There are some operations in Mathematica that are automatically "Listable". Subtract is one of these. So, if you want to subtract a single constant value from each of the values in a List, you can just do it directly:

{5, 10, 15} - 1

This would give you:

{4, 9, 14}

More generally, the concept of "apply this function to each element in a list" is implemented with Map:

Map[f, {5, 10, 15}]

which gives you

{f[5], f[10], f[15]}

Using an actual function instead of f:

Map[# - 1 &, {5, 10, 15}]

would give you

{4, 9, 14}

again.

POSTED BY: Eric Rimbey
Posted 9 years ago