Message Boards Message Boards

Solving a system of equations with inequalities

Posted 9 years ago

Hello!

I'm very new to Mathematica and I've always used Wolfram|Alpha as an alternative. However, I need to solve a system containing equations and inequalities. The system contains the following equation and inequalities:

16x^4-40ax^3+(15a^2+24b)x^2-18abx+3b^2 = 0 \\
5ax-4x^2-b>0 \\
15ax-20x^2-3b<0 \\
4x^3 - 8 c x^2 + 5 a c x - c b < 0,

where a<0, x<0 and c<0. The objective is to find a solution x such that the above equation and inequalities are satisfied. In fact, I'm not particularly interested in the solution itself, but I'm interested in the constraints on the parameters (a,b,c). However, I tried to run this in the notebook, but it did not give any output. Could someone try to run it for me? Or guide me on how to solve it?

Many thanks!

POSTED BY: Cédric Cavents
2 Replies

Thanks for the answer!

That is indeed the system that I had to solve. The constraints on $a$ and $b$ are easy to handle. The constraint on $c$ is harder to handle. if Mathematica gives as output $\mbox{Root}[\ldots,1]$ and $\mbox{Root}[\ldots,2]$, then I assume the latter to be the greater (real) root?

When I only consider the first thee equations/inequalities of the systems then Mathematica also gives a constraint on $b$ in function of Roots objects. More precisely, one of the cases for example states $a^2 < b < \mbox{Root}[375 a^8 - 3600 a^6 x + 8088 a^4 x^2 - 6912 a^2 x^3 + 2048 x^4,2]$. I let Wolfram|Alpha solve the latter quartic and the two real solutions are: $0,147 a^2$ and $1.08148a^2$. Hence my example can also be written as: $$a^2<b<1,08148 a^2,$$ which is a fairly easy condition to work with.