Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
8 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Work with Graph object of Combinatorica package?

Posted 8 years ago

I am completely new to Mathematica and I am completely stuck on a seemingly simple problem. I have spent over an hour to try to calculate the chromatic number of a simple (two vertex) graph to no avail, and the Wolfram reference site for graphs did not help me much either. The following screenshot illustrates my problem - essentially the output is either a strange error message or the same as the input, whereas I expect a simple '2' as an answer. Thank you very much for your help!

Cannot get ChromaticNumber function to run, and strange error messages

8 Replies

IGraph/M now provides graph colouring functionality that is well integrated with the rest of Mathematica. You no longer need Combinatorica for this.

Demo:

Let's make a graph:

g = StarGraph[5, VertexSize -> Large];

Compute a minimum colouring and visualize it:

g // IGVertexMap[ColorData[112], VertexStyle -> IGMinimumVertexColoring]

Mathematica graphics

Transform it into a larger graph that needs one more colour:

g2 = IGMycielskian[g, VertexSize -> Large]

Mathematica graphics

Colour it:

g2 // IGVertexMap[ColorData[112], VertexStyle -> IGMinimumVertexColoring]

Mathematica graphics

Obtain the colouring as a list:

IGMinimumVertexColoring[g2]
(* {1, 3, 3, 3, 3, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 1} *)

Direct and explicit verification that the same graph is not 2-colourable:

IGKVertexColoring[g2, 2]
(* {} *)

Run a fast colouring algorithm that does not guarantee minimum colouring.

IGVertexColoring[g2]
(* {1, 2, 2, 2, 2, 3, 2, 2, 2, 2, 1} *)

It gave us a different result, also with 3 colours.

Directly compute the chromatic number:

IGChromaticNumber[g2]
(* 3 *)
POSTED BY: Szabolcs Horvát

Avoid using Combinatorica if you can. It is not supported any more and therefore not easy to use. It also shadows (= "conflicts with") several builtin functions.