Message Boards Message Boards

Implementing a simple proof assistant and type system

Posted 8 years ago

Inspiration and Idea

The prospect of internalizing some notion of pure mathematics into the Wolfram Language has been talked about at various points in the past, such as in this post. My background is in proof assistants and type theories, and I've spent several years programming in languages like Agda and Coq. These dependently typed languages have the best track record for expressing formal mathematics, but the Wolfram Language can't be easily modified to replicate the behaviour of such languages. The issue, as I've come to understand it now, is that the rule-replacement computational model that the Wolfram Language uses is, at it's core, incompatible with a system-wide type theory. That is to say, such a system cannot have every term be typable while maintaining usability. So, what are the alternatives?

As far as I can tell, there are two major branches of dependently typed languages (and several minor ones), the "formal" type theories, such as Agda, Coq, Lean, Idris, etc., and the "semantic" type theories, being NuPRL and the more recent RedPRL. I started learning about that second branch a few months ago. Unfortunately, all current PRL implementations are largely unusable for an ordinary user, but the ideas underlying their approach to type theory was enamoring to me. The approach is as follows;

1. Start with an untyped computational model (any will do).
  2. Use a programming logic to declare some forms from the model to be "canonical types".
  3. Declare other forms from the model to be "canonical terms" of the already declared type.
  4. Declare equations which define computational behaviors for those symbols intended to interact with the type under consideration.