|
7 Replies
|
5 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

GUI front end for Mathematica 11?

Posted 8 years ago

I realize this is a “newbie” question, however, I am a newbie. Is there a GUI front end for Mathematica 11? I use Microsoft Visual Studio to program in .NET. The GUI makes it easier to visualize code and compiles the code for faster execution. Thanks!

POSTED BY: Brian Buchholz
7 Replies
I would like to thank everyone for their input. Even though I believe Mathematica is the future for programming, I found getting started was a large task. You have helped me greatly.

Brian Buchholz

I'd also comment that, although some people enjoy using Wolfram Workbench as a conventional IDE for writing large (or medium or small) Mathematica Packages, the notebook interface is also well suited for this and has some significant advantages (where things are set up to save the ASCII code .m file from the notebook automatically). E.G, being able to use the full formatting capabilities of the notebook; being able to document in the the notebook using its full formatting abilities; being able to program the notebook itself to achieve various things; and so on and so on... I generally do all my work this way--and organized properly this can be used for very large packages--my largest I think is about 60,000 lines of Wolfram Language code in the .m file.

Basically the sky is the limit with notebooks.... though, some do prefer the IDE route: I respect their choice ;-)

POSTED BY: David Reiss

There are large and complex packages that were written this way: use a notebook (including text cells and comments) and auto-save to an .m file. SciDraw is one example. One nice feature of notebook is hierarchical sectioning.