|
2 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

New to Mathematica Language - Questions on Context

Posted 11 years ago
I am new to Mathematica programming and am trying to develop a package.  My questions are:
  1. I have a small set of functions defined in a package inside of a Begin["`Private`"].  If I call one of my functions from a notebook, I cannot get the numeric value of the function (even if I use //N).  What is the correct way to call a function embedded in a package?  The code of my simple package is below.
     BeginPackage["EKRScaleupPower`"]
     (* Exported symbols added here with SymbolName::usage *)

averagePowerRC::usage = "averagePowerRC[V, R, C, f] returns the average power of an RC circuit for V volts and f Hertz."
     capacitanceParallelPlate::usage = "capacitanceParallelPlate[A, d, relativePermittivity, freePermittivity] returns the capacitance of a parallel plate condensor neglecting fringe effects."
     reactance::usage = "reactance[C,f] returns capacitive reactance in ohms."
     resistance::usage = "resistance[A, d, resistivity] returns resistance in ohms (Pouillet's law)."

Begin["`Private`"]
    (* Implementation of the package *)

averagePowerRC[V_,R_,C_,f_]:=
    Module[
    {x,p},
    x = 1/ (2 Pi f C);
    p = 0.5 V^2 R / (R^2 + x^2)
    ]

capacitanceParallelPlate[A_,d_,relativePermittivity_,freePermittivity:8.854 10^-12]:=
    Module[
    {c},
    c = relativePermittivity freePermittivity A / d
    ]

resistance[A_, d_, resistivity_]:=
    Module[
    {r},
    r = resistivity d / A
    ]

reactance[C_,f_]:=
    Module[
    {x},
    x= 1/(2 Pi f C)
    ]

End[]

EndPackage[]
  2. My call from my notebook is below (I suspect that this is the problem):
    << EKRScaleupPower`
    cap20L = capacitanceParallelPlate[0.02^(2/3), 0.02^(1/3), 50]