5 Replies
|
23 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Computer-Based Math Education

Posted 11 years ago
Hi everyone,

I live in the UK, where our maths education is pretty broken. I was an A-grade student, learning maths in the same way everyone else learned--rote and with hand calculating. By age 16, my understanding fell apart. Why was I learning this stuff?

Perhaps a little ironically, nowadays I manage projects and organise outreach for computerbasedmath.org. I can't help but think, why wasn't I taught this in school? The emphasis on teaching understanding through maths, rather than just calculating, is fantastic. I really like Conrad's TED talk, which some of you may enjoy:

Conrad Wolfram: Teaching kids real math with computers

People, even entire countries, are really starting to get this concept. The project is going from strength to strength and with the UNICEF-hosted Education Summit running this month, there will be a lot of exciting new partnerships developing soon.I'd love to hear from you if you can relate and are interested in what we're doing with computerbasedmath.org.

Any thoughts, ideas and experiences you have to share would be great to read. I'd also encourage you to pop over to the website.

Mike
POSTED BY: Michael Belcher
5 Replies