|
10 Replies
|
11 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Comparisons between procedural and functional programming

Posted 5 years ago

I would like to know (for teaching purposes) of examples where the efficiency of functional programming is overwhelmingly greater than procedural programming.

POSTED BY: Tomas Garza
10 Replies

Indeed! Very unlikely...

Far from me the idea of starting a flame war

I think there's a very low chance of that happening on this forum :-) The topic is just not that controversial here.

POSTED BY: Szabolcs Horvát

I greatly appreciate the various answers in response to my question. I am not a computer scientist and parts of those answers are well above my level of understanding. I have been a user of Mathematica for some time, and was in the process of preparing an introductory talk for students when I thought I might benefit from other users experience, looking for a few examples where the power of functional programming could be best shown, both in terms of operational power (i.e. speed of execution, import and export facilities, storing results - not only programs or notebooks, but also intermediate results) and of course the quality of the language and how easy it is to get programs up and running, testing code, combining text, code, images, etc. Far from me the idea of starting a flame war, as Matthew says. I am essentially a Mathematica-oriented practitioner, and rather than trying to promote or sell the advantages of the language (in which I firmly believe, perhaps because I practically know nothing else), I wish to provide clear-cut examples where functional programming is faster to write, easier to understand and very good in performance terms (and also, as Frank says, easier to debug) than procedural or imperative languages. All this said, I must add that reading the replies has been extremely useful and I sincerely thank you all. Szabolcs provides a lot of ideas and useful examples, although some of the references he giv