Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Hide input boxes / display only output boxes?

Posted 5 years ago

Hello,

I am a newbie on Wolfram Desktop and I am having trouble finding any documentation on the following: I'd like to be able to export a notebook to PDF or HTML but hide the Wolfram Language code displayed on Input Boxes and only display their results on the OutputBoxes.

That's because my audience are of non-programmers and they would be confused by the source code.

Any help is appreciated, Quenio

4 Replies

You can hide the input cell by double-clicking on its cell bracket. I wish I knew an automatic way of doing it in the whole document. Right now I must intervene manually on each input-output group. I also wish there was an automatic way of getting rid of those dummy Out[.] cell labels that started showing up in version 11.3, and for which I can see no possible use.

POSTED BY: Gianluca Gorni

Sorry, you have to double-click on the cell bracket of the output cell.

POSTED BY: Gianluca Gorni

Gianluca,

I wish I knew an automatic way of doing it in the whole document.

You can program a button to do this.

Button["HideInputs", NotebookFind[SelectedNotebook[], "Output", All, CellStyle]; 
FrontEndExecute[FrontEndToken["OpenCloseGroup"]]]

do a select all (cmd-a) followed by a open (Cmd-') to undo this. You can replace the frontend execute by doing a Cell->Grouping>Open/Close Group from the menu (Cmd-' on the mac). First you click the button to select all the output cells and then type the shortcut to close them.

I also wish there was an automatic way of getting rid of those dummy Out[.] cell labels that started showing up in version 11.3, and for which I can see no possible use.