Message Boards Message Boards

Photorealistic Rendering: A walkthrough for working with LuxCoreRender

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Silvia Hao
10 Replies

enter image description here - Congratulations! This post is now featured in our Staff Pick column as distinguished by a badge on your profile of a Featured Contributor! Thank you, keep it coming!

POSTED BY: Moderation Team

On a lower-brow note, Ms. Hao has excellent coding style, viz. her use of whitespace and leading commas (indicating call sequence).

POSTED BY: Vincent Virgilio

Well I didn't invent that. I adopted it from gurus. I guess the take-away is WL does tolerant all kinds of coding styles one can imagine :)

Thanks for posting this amazing walkthrough! I'm new to luxcorerender and am trying to get this notebook to work. When I evaluate the notebook and run pyluxcoretool, it emits this relatively unhelpful error message:

C:\Users\Ben\Downloads\luxcorerender-v2.2-blender2.80-win64-opencl\luxcorerender-v2.2-blender2.80-win64-opencl
? pyluxcoretool console diamond.cfg
[MainThread][2019-12-01 18:41:00,669] LuxCore 2.2
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "pyluxcoretool.py", line 59, in <module>
  File "C:\Users\Ben\AppData\Local\Temp\_MEI112042\pyluxcoretools.zip\pyluxcoretools\pyluxcoreconsole\cmd.py", line 174, in main
  File "C:\Users\Ben\AppData\Local\Temp\_MEI112042\pyluxcoretools.zip\pyluxcoretools\pyluxcoreconsole\cmd.py", line 126, in LuxCoreConsole
RuntimeError: Syntax error in a Properties at line 1
[20124] Failed to execute script pyluxcoretool

I noticed when I evaluated the notebook that some warnings were thrown when generating diamond.scn, which I believe to be the problem:

In[35]:= sceneFile = 
 sceneConfig // luxcoreWriter // Export["diamond.scn", #, "String"] &

During evaluation of In[35]:= StringJoin::string: String expected at position 2 in scene.camera.lookat.orig = <>1<>7.<>2<>2<>(-7.)<>3<>3<>5.<>4.