Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Find matrix´s diagonal as fast as the Diagonal[]?

Hello community.

I am studying different ways to find the diagonal of a matrix without using the Diagonal command, just for an operations study, of course I can use Diagonal[], but I wonder if there is a way to simulate this command using other commands, just so that I can learn more about the WL language.

For example the matrix “a” (10000 x 10000) defined by:

SeedRandom[1234]
n = 10000;
a = Table[RandomInteger[9, n], n];

To have a basis of comparison for the study, I get the performance of the Diagonal command:

Diagonal[a]; // AbsoluteTiming

i1

Some attempts (all were slower than Diagonal[]):

Map[a[[#, #]] &, Range@n]; // AbsoluteTiming

i2

Table[a[[i, i]], {i, Length@a}]; // AbsoluteTiming

i3

• Edited1:

I think I've found a better way than the ones I've tried so far:

Extract[Table[{i, i}, {i, Length@a}]][a]; // AbsoluteTiming

i4

But it still takes about more than twice the time of Diagonal[].

What other ways to find the diagonal of a matrix that are faster than these attempts above without using the Diagonal command? I would love to learn other ways, I could only think of those two ways. Could it also be that, even using Part, there is a faster and simpler way that I haven't thought of? Can anyone teach me others ways (even if they are slower than Diagonal[])? I will be very grateful if anyone can help! Thanks.

POSTED BY: Claudio Chaib
4 Replies
Posted 4 years ago

I'll leave the extensive testing up to you, as I am currently not able to, but back when Diagonal[] was not yet implemented, one used either Tr[mat, List] or Transpose[mat, {1, 1}] for the purpose of extracting diagonal elements. A reason to use the latter construct even now, if not for speed, is that it is compilable, as opposed to Diagonal[].

POSTED BY: J. M.

Thank you so much for the reply J.M.