|
12 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Siemens sine-wave stars

Posted 4 years ago

Hi Wolframians, I am new to the Wolfram language, and I only used a trial version of the Mathematica to see if there is a way to replace my Siemens sine-wave star measurement for my test chart, using MatLab. I am under impression that Mathematica is much more powerful, but as with anything new, it is hard for me to find a function or algorithm of how I can measure resolution of a Siemens sine-wave star, which I use in my ViDi Labs test charts (https://vidilabs.com/testcharts.html) and developed a little program using MatLab to find the circles in an image, and then measure resolution (or MTF = Modulation Transfer Function), based on the 10% Depth of Modulation, as described by the IEC 62676-5 standards. If anybody can help me in either giving me a list of functions to look at, or perhaps somebody would know exactly how to calculate the above mentioned resolution, I would gladly purchase a full licence of Mathematica and investigate this further. Happy to consider even paying somebody for their time if they can do what I have described in my video in the able mentioned URL link. I am also adding an attachment, a simple explanation on how this resolution is measured. Thank you so much.

Attachment

Attachments:
12 Replies

I am under impression that Mathematica is much more powerful ...

Your impression is absolutely correct! Here comes an attempt showing some intermediate result which hopefully points to the right direction:

First I create an image of a Siemens star; its center is "somewhere":

siemensFunc[x_, y_] := (Sin[144 ArcTan[x, y]] + 1)/2.
ll = 5.01;
siemensStarData = Table[siemensFunc[x, y], {y, -ll, ll + 1, .02}, {x, -ll + 1, ll + 1, .02}];
siemensStar = Image[siemensStarData]

Now I am taking this image as it is. To get the star center I first try to find "lines" in the image:

lines = ImageLines[siemensStar];
HighlightImage[siemensStar, lines]