Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
6 Replies
|
19 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Can Mathematica be used just like BASIC?

I am new to Mathematica. Although I skimmed a manual for it, I cannot tell if I can use it like BASIC, my original language and the only one I needed for the past 30 years. Mathematica seems to focus on all its special functions. Frankly, I never see anyone just making a simple data analysis program without it getting complicated by all the special graphing functions, etc. So, can Mathematica be used just like BASIC or do I need to look elsewhere for a new language?

POSTED BY: James Jakubow
6 Replies

Well, thank you all for your responses. It is appreciated. I guess it is time to start on page 1 of the manual. That is the only way I'm really going to find out how it is different/similar to my old workflow. James

Eric: Thanks for asking. I used BASIC for accessing ASCII files and analyzing data we would pull from long streams of operant data from psychology experiments (basically long streams of numbers up to about 250,000 per file). No commercially available programs were available because of the niche work being done at a university lab. Frankly, once the 2000s rolled around, people kept telling me to get rid of BASIC and move on to something else. BASIC works so why should I move on? Mathematica, however, seems to do some wonderful things that "could" make some of my programming outputs (graphing) easier to achieve. The problem is, I don't know anyone who uses it and all the discussions of the software seem to be people doing work very unlike myself.

Posted 1 year ago

Well, that still doesn't show any specific computations that we could do comparisons with. But, there are some general things I could say.

analyzing data