12 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Finding a specific solution to an ODE system

Posted 9 years ago

Hey guys,

I'm in my last year of my physics degree, and part of my dissertation project involves mathematica, modelling the orbital behaviour of a spacecraft using Ion propulsion.

I have 2 coupled differential equations being solved, r''(t) and o''(t), in an NdSolve function (o is pheta in my case, modelling the change in angular momentum). It solves this with no problem, and plots the results fine. I now need to find the value of t and o at which r=5.3. It seems simple enough on paper, but i'm not sure how to translate that into my code.

Attached is a simplified version of my code. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Mike Jones
12 Replies

You are looking for a value of t between -10 and 10 such that:

First[r[t] /. TotalThrust] == 5.3

The "First" is there to get rid of the list. See the previously linked article on how to use the output of NDSolve for more info.

Usually you can take equations like the above and use NSolve or FindRoot on them to find a value of t that solves them.

But, It doesn't look like that value exists according to your graph! It does look like r[t] goes up to 5.3. NDSolve is set in your code so that it runs from t=-10 to t=10. If I increase that boundary I still don't see r[t] going anywhere near 5.3.

Here's what it looks like when I run NDSolve from -20 to 20 and plot it: enter image description here

Why do you believe that graph should go up to 5.3? Around what value of t do you think this would happen?

POSTED BY: Sean Clarke
Posted 9 years ago

Hello again!

Sorry about the disagreement with the graph, in my currently used model, different initial conditions are set such that r does eventually reach the desired value.

What is the syntax of the Nsolve and Findroot when solving a specific equation like First[r[t] /. TotalThrust] == 5.3?