Message Boards Message Boards

Passing a record as an argument and using it in a simulation

I am relatively new to Mathematica, and to learn it I am working my way through W. Garrett Mitchener's very informative "Learning to program simulations in Mathematica" . I've gotten as far as his Exercise 8 on p. 14, at which point I get stuck. (Actually, writing out this request for help, I solved the problem. So I'm still posting it in case you experts out there can give me some tips for improvement.)

The tutorial develops random walk Monte Carlo simulations of increasing complexity. Exercise 8 uses a data record (an "ant") with two attributes: position (k) along a line with n discrete locations and the direction (dir) in which the ant is facing (Left or Right). So the record is defined as "Ant[k,dir]" (e.g., Ant[5,Left]). The random walk has no absorbing states. Instead, the ant will step forward in the direction it is facing with probability pStep and turn around with probability 1-pStep. If the ant is at either endpoint of the line, it stays there until it turns around. The exercise sets pStep = 2/3 and n=15. It asks the reader to program Mathematica to return a list of 20 random steps, such as {Ant[5,Right], Ant[6,Right], Ant[7,Right], Ant[7,Left], ...}.

To tackle this problem, I wrote functions Step and Turn respectively to move and turn the ant. They are:

Step[Ant[k_, dir_], n_] :=
 If[FreeQ[dir, Right], Ant[Max[1, k - 1], Left], Ant[Min[n, k + 1], Right]]

and

Turn[Ant[k_, dir_]] :=
 If[FreeQ[dir, Right], Ant[k, Right], Ant[k, Left]]

Then function MoveAnt moves or turns the ant:

MoveAnt[Ant[k_, dir_], pStep_, n_, u_] :=
 If[u < pStep, Step[Ant[k, dir], n], Turn[Ant[k, dir]]]

where u is (will be) a uniformly distributed random variable. The function MoveAntRandom generates this random variable and calls MoveAnt:

MoveAntRandom[Ant[k_, dir_], pStep_, n_] :=
 MoveAnt[Ant[k, dir], pStep, n, Random[]]

So far, so good. Everything works as expected. For example,