Message Boards Message Boards

Record evenly spaced out points around the perimeter of an image?

I am very new to this software so I unfortunately do not have any examples I could show to represent what I am trying to do. Basically, I am adopting a geometric morphometric approach to determine the sex of a juvenile from the ilium (hip bone). The bones have been photographed in 2 different views, one of the flat surface of the bone and one of the crest of the bone. For the method I am following, I would need to be able to record evenly spaced out points around different parts of the bone, most importantly around the perimeters. It is important that they are evenly spaced, and this is what I am struggling with since I am not too familiar with the software. The numbers of points are mainly 50 or 100 depending on location. Is this possible to do with Mathematica? I know I can do the eigenshape analysis on the software which is what I will use to create discriminant functions. I have included an image as an example, and for that specific image the points would need to go all around the edge of the bone. Also, I would need to be able to record the angle of the greater sciatic notch (the large notch at the top left of the bone), is there a way of doing this on the software as well? For that the original method placed 3 points down at specific locations, but of course it does not have to be done that way if there are other valid ways. Thank you very much in advance to anyone who may be able to help or give some advice on this matter!

Photo of ilium

12 Replies