7 Replies
|
15 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Manipulate Re-evaluation

Posted 11 years ago
Hi Guys,

I'm new to Mathematica and I am having trouble understanding manipulate. I have some code which should explore the relationships between the number of trials, the sample space and the sample size. The code below runs with the initialsed values but doesn't re-evaluate if I move any of the sliders, Where am I going wrong?

Many thanks in advance,

Tim

Manipulate[
  Module[{populationSize = 20, sampleSize = 6, data = {}, rawData,
    dataR, dataL, totalData, trials = 5},

drawSample :=
    AppendTo[data, RandomSample[Range[populationSize], sampleSize]];
   Do[drawSample, {trials}];

rawData = Flatten[data]; dataR = Sort[rawData, Greater];
  dataL = Sort[rawData]; totalData = Join[dataL, dataR];
  BarChart[Drop[totalData, {1, Length[totalData], 2}]]
  ], {populationSize, 1, 50, 1}, {{sampleSize, 6}, 1, populationSize,
  1}, {{trials, 5}, 1, 10}]
7 Replies
Posted 11 years ago
Hi Tim,

Bianca is right and Nasser correctly points out an additional issue. One way to avoid the latter is to make sure that updates to populationSize also update sampleSize if necessary. Here's how you might do that:

Manipulate[

Module[{data = {}, rawData, dataR, dataL, totalData},
   rawData = Flatten[data];
   dataR = Sort[rawData, Greater];
   dataL = Sort[rawData];
  totalData = Join[dataL, dataR];
  BarChart[Drop[totalData, {1, Length[totalData], 2}]]],

{{populationSize, 20},
  Manipulator[
    Append[#,
     Function[{val, expr},
      expr = val;
      sampleSize = Min[val, sampleSize],
      {HoldRest}]],
    {1, 50, 1}] &},
{{sampleSize, 6}, 1, populationSize, 1},
{{trials, 5}, 1, 10}]