Message Boards Message Boards

Error when integrating Free Wolfram Engine with .net application

Posted 5 years ago

Hi, I'm new to Wolfram. I downloaded yesterday Wolfram Engine 12.0 and tried to call it from my .net app in C# but I ended up with error where it asked me to choose a Mathlink program to launch.

the error in my program raise at this point : IKernelLink ml = MathLinkFactory.CreateKernelLink();

can someone advice on what is missing here. thanks in advance.

ps : I using Wolfram.NETLink.dll and ml32i4.dll

enter image description here

POSTED BY: Arcondo Dasilva
5 Replies

I think you need to specify the location of 'wolfram.exe':

https://reference.wolfram.com/language/NETLink/ref/net/Wolfram.NETLink.MathLinkFactory.CreateKernelLink_overload_3.html

With the Wolfram Engine in the default installation location it would be:

"c:/program files/wolfram research/wolfram engine/12.0/wolfram.exe"

(I didn't try this, but I think this is the direction to look into)

POSTED BY: Arnoud Buzing

Thanks a lot Arnoud. That was the error. I added the args :

string[] mlArgs = { "-linkmode", "launch", "-linkname", "c:/program files/wolfram research/wolfram engine/12.0/wolfram.exe"};
KernelLink ml = MathLinkFactory.CreateKernelLink(mlArgs);

to locate "worfram.exe" and it worked ! Now I can move further.

Kr,

POSTED BY: Arcondo Dasilva

Great to hear!

POSTED BY: Arnoud Buzing

Hi Arnoud, I have also the same problem as above: DllNotFoundException: Die DLL "ml32i4.dll": Das angegebene Modul wurde nicht gefunden. (Ausnahme von HRESULT: 0x8007007E) kann nicht geladen werden.

Even after I have inserted the corresponding lines: string[] mlArgs = { "-linkmode", "launch", "-linkname", "c:/Programme/Wolfram Research/Mathematica/12.2/MathKernel.exe" }; IKernelLink ml = MathLinkFactory.CreateKernelLink(mlArgs);

I'm using MATHEMATICA 12.2.0.0 Windows (64-bit) Visual Studio 2019 Version 16.7.5 and .NET 4.8

Why the RunTime is looking for ml32i4.dll and not for ml64ia.dll?